Eligible Concentrations

The Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship (MMUF) is an initiative of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, a philanthropic organization that has central commitments in the humanities. As a result, MMUF is designed to support students in the humanities and humanistic social sciences toward pursuing PhDs and diversifying the professoriate. 


You must have declared, or be planning to declare, a concentration in one or more of the following academic departments to be eligible for the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship (MMUF) at Princeton University. 


  • African American Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Art and Archaeology
  • Classics
  • Comparative Literature
  • East Asian Studies
  • English
  • French and Italian
  • German
  • History
  • Music (Musicology, Ethnomusicology, and Music Theory only)
  • Near Eastern Studies
  • Philosophy
  • Politics (Political Theory only)
  • Religion
  • Slavic Languages and Literatures
  • Sociology
  • Spanish and Portuguese

See more about eligible fields of study on the MMUF organization page. Please note that, if you are pursuing only a certificate in an MMUF-eligible area, and not a concentration, you will not be eligible for the fellowship.